Perry SWCD is located in Somerset, Ohio and services all of Perry County.

(740) 743-1325
109-A East Gay Street
Somerset, OH  43783

Click here for update on Gun Club


Due to the COVID-19, The Perry SWCD staff are now in the office.  We still would like you to call in to talk to the staff and schedule an appointment if needed. We ask that you call 740-743-1325 and not visit us in person.  All staff can be reached by email listed on the website.  Thank You for your understanding.

Perry County is in the southeastern part of Ohio.  The total area is 262,080 acres or 410 square miles.  Perry County was founded on December 26, 1817 and was the 55th county to be formed in Ohio.  It was named for Oliver Hazard Perry, a hero of the War of 1812.  New Lexington is the county seat.


In 1941, the Ohio General Assembly authorized formation of soil and water conservation districts.  The 88 Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Districts are legal entities of the State of Ohio and are governed by a board of 5 supervisors that serve without pay in the interest of planning and carrying out the district's programs.  The Perry SWCD was organized in June 1944 and was the 29th district to form in Ohio.


Perry SWCD works with citizens of Perry County and local and state agencies to promote good stewardship practices.  Through increased public awareness of these practices and provided technical assistance, the soil, water, and other natural resources should be around for future generations.

Glenford Fort Preserve:

The Perry SWCD is now offering an opportunity for the public to visit the Glenford Fort Preserve on a permit basis.  If you go to the page Glenford Fort/Gun Club you will see the link where you can print off the application and release form and a link where you can read the Rules and Regulations.

Hey Folks!  Check out the newly added Perry County Historical Aerial Photos.  Historical being the key word.  Some of the photos are unfortunately missing and some are not in the best shape.  We hope this makes your research a little easier and more convenient.  

Pictured are the Perry SWCD Board of Supervisors  (L to R) Cary Bowers, Rich Maxwell, Dennis Young, Bev Decore-Trovato, and Rob Foster.

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with

  • Facebook App Icon